One Year Anniversary!

February 10, 2015 was officially one year since we began our dog fostering career with Golden Bond Rescue of Oregon. We’ve opened our home and hearts to four unique pups. These dogs have made a lasting impression on us. I’ve had the chance to learn a lot through my successes, failures and lots of reading.

Edna

I am proud of the work I have done with these four dogs and I’m excited to continue helping other dogs in the future. When a foster dog comes into our home, it becomes family. The dog is treated with kindness, compassion and respect. We don’t know what the dog has experienced in the past. All we know is the dog’s life gets better the moment they get in our car.

Jack Benny

We give these dogs love, stability, exercise, medical care, attention, food and shelter. All we ask in return is they learn and follow our house rules:

  1. Respect the cats (indoors and outdoors).
  2. Respect Marley, we can’t be a foster home if she’s not happy with our house guest.
  3. Our bathroom is indoors, yours is outdoors.
  4. Please keep barking to a minimum.
  5. Kitchen counters are off limits.
  6. Sit, stay, come, down, off, and leave it.
  7. Grooming is necessary (don’t fight it, it’s gonna happen).

Heidi

The moment I meet our foster dog I try to figure them out, but this takes time. The dog I see on day 1 is not the same dog I see 2-4 weeks later. My highest priority is making sure our cats and Marley are safe around the dog. If I’ve been told the dog is good with cats and dogs, I STILL watch very closely for any signal that says differently. Second, I observe for any possible medical or behavioral problems that need to be addressed.

Bela

What fostering means to me:

  • Healing a dog’s spirit.
  • Giving a dog a second chance at life, a life they should have had from the beginning.
  • Proving people wrong when they claimed the dog was “unadoptable”.
  • Opening my home and heart to a dog in need.
  • Being a dog’s cheerleader.
  • Looking out for the dog’s best interest, especially when choosing it’s forever family.
  • Taking the time and energy to work with the dog to give it the greatest chance of success with its new family.

A HUGE thanks to my husband for being supportive and making it possible for us to be a foster home. Even though I do most of the work, I couldn’t do it without you!

Thank you to the other volunteers at GBR who have been supportive and extremely helpful. This first year was difficult at times, but I’m not going anywhere. I strongly urge everyone to consider being a foster home.

 

One thought on “One Year Anniversary!

I'd love your feedback

