Change Of Plans

I am disappointed to announce that I will no longer be a part of Golden Bond Rescue of Oregon. I have been greatly mistreated by a board member regarding a document not being submitted while I was being treated for a serious medical issue. This person was made aware of my situation yet she doubled down and spread lies to support her actions. After making others aware of this disturbing event, I was then painted as the problem person even though the injustice was done to me.

I have learned that people within the rescue, whether they have a title or not, have lost perspective. They believe they can treat people poorly in the name of helping the dogs. They believe that shining light on a problem, only makes the organization look bad and this is abhorrent; they would rather pretend a problem doesn’t exist.

I tried to find a way to continue to help the rescue dogs while standing up for myself, but that wasn’t possible. I respect myself too much to surround myself with people who won’t support me when I’ve been wronged. I don’t want to be around people who want to silence and control me for trying to bring about positive change and accountability.

I am greatly concerned that this sort of behavior will be found within other rescues because people focus so much on the animals and stop caring about the people involved. I could be wrong, but I am choosing not to find out. I am not trying to discourage anyone from becoming a foster home or from participating in animal rescues. I want to make you aware of possible problems. Perhaps by reading this, you might put more thought in how you treat others or how you will respond if you are faced with a similar problem.

Hopefully volunteers within animal rescues will learn something from my negative experience. Show some understanding to the humans who are sacrificing their time, energy and money for your shared cause. Show some respect for what they are able and willing to do, even if they don’t do as much as you do or as fast as you. Consider the consequences of not having them such as losing a foster home, financial donations, and event volunteers.

It’s possible to help animals without harming human relationships.

 

4 thoughts on “Change Of Plans

  1. I am very familiar with disrespect from individuals within organizations, as well as others who have been thankful and respectful. Been in and out of this for 40 years. People get into cliques, and groups can take on a dynamic that becomes all about them, really. So I would have to say that they aren’t actually focused on the dogs so much as on their own feelings, opinions, misconceptions, egos, issues, whatever. It’s just easy to SAY that it’s all about the dogs. Without working well with PEOPLE however, there is no effective rescue group, so it becomes self defeating with the dogs in the middle of a fray that could have been prevented.

    • Well said! I’m glad to hear back from someone with years of experience in the rescue world. I quoted your last two sentences when I sent out a constructive criticism email to the board of directors and coordinators.

I'd love your feedback

